Minor in Possession Defense Lawyer – Gary Wilson
Minor in Possession Defense Attorney
In Michigan, it is illegal for a person under the age of 21 to purchase, consume, or possess alcohol. If you, or your child, has been charged with being a Minor in Possession, you should contact an attorney immediately. Attorney Gary Wilson has helped many clients fight minor in possession charges.
Exceptions to the Law
Michigan does understand there are acceptable reasons for a minor to possess alcohol. Theses exceptions include:
- Work: You can lawfully be a minor in possession of alcohol for work purposes. The exception does not include drinking the liquor, and your employer must be licensed to sell alcohol.
- University: If you are in a University building and being supervised by a faculty member, you may consume alcohol for educational purposes.
- Religion: Those under 21 may drink wine during religious ceremonies or services.
- Undercover: Minors can buy alcohol when working with the police to conduct an undercover operation.
Those falsely charged with minor in possession should contact Attorney Gary Wilson. Even if your case does not satisfy one of the above exceptions, there are still valid defenses that Gary can use.
Preliminary Breath Test (PBT)
In the state of Michigan, the police cannot force a minor to take a PBT. The minor must give his consent, and the consent must be in writing. Anytime you are accused of a minor in possession charge, do not take the PBT test.
Even if you did take a PBT, if the officer does not have written documentation showing your consent, we can still have the case thrown out. Gary represented a minor in possession who was at a Grosse Pointe Park house party. Twenty-three kids were arrested and charged with being a minor in possession of alcohol. Twenty-two of the kids either pleaded or were found guilty. The only minor that had his case thrown out was Gary’s client. Gary filed a motion to dismiss the case based on the lack of written consent, and that minor was able to avoid a criminal record. Having a criminal record would’ve severely affected his or her future. Don’t let a MIP charge alter your child’s future.
If you get found guilty of minor in possession charges, your penalization could include:
- Up to $100 Fine
- A Substance Abuse Prevention Program
- Community Service
- Substance Abuse Screening (At your expense)
Minors will also get a smudge on their criminal record that can affect them when applying for jobs or scholarships.
Attorney Gary M. Wilson
Gary worked in criminal law since 1988 when he was a Wayne County Prosecuting Attorney. Then in 1992 Gary decided that people also needed to be defended from an over-reaching justice system, and became a criminal defense attorney. His 27 years of criminal experience will help him formulate your best defense. He will go through your case with a fine tooth comb and find any mistakes made by the police or inaccuracies in your case file.
When charged with minor in possession, call Gary at 313-246-8885 during office hours or 313-410-0110 on nights and weeks. He will give you a free consultation any time of day.